Two Points for Tesla! (Make a Basket training summary and lessons learned.)


Tricks; So much more than give paw and roll over

Tesla's Training

While I don’t think she’s ready for the pros just yet, Tesla has shown herself to be a persistent basket shooter!

Overall we trained short sessions once or twice a day (approximately 18-20 total mini-sessions totaling 30-40 minutes). We also had 6 longer sessions of 6-8 minutes each. I tried to keep the sessions short because Tesla seemed to be enjoying herself and I didn’t want to stress her too much. Total training time:  approx. 1 h over 12 days

We trained this behavior slowly, building upon a skill she already knew: bring me an object and put it in my hand. I started requesting that she bring me the “basketball” and place it in my hand right away. In contrast to “Ring Toss” I didn’t spend any time rewarding her for simply interacting with the basket or ball. This came out of the “Lessons Learned” from the…

View original post 448 more words

One thought on “Two Points for Tesla! (Make a Basket training summary and lessons learned.)

Leave a Reply

