Marker, Shmarker! What Difference Does it Make? 12-3-14


Clicker Chronicles

IMG_2474My dog, Sophie, does not like to have her feet touched.  Therefore, she does not like having her toenails trimmed.  I’ve tried shaping her to offer a paw and my handling of said paw.  I’ve tried just feeding her while I handle her paws – counter conditioning and desensitization.  I’ve also tried trimming a nail or two while my son rubs her belly.  I’m still working on both since we haven’t gotten to the point of being able to trim those nails yet.  This is going to be a long-term project.

The other behavior I’ve been trying to shape as a less invasive way of shortening those nails is training her paw a piece of coarse sandpaper stapled to a board.  This has been going okay, but not great.

I use a tongue click.  I’ve been doing that for a long time since I use tongue clicks for my horses. …

View original post 523 more words

One thought on “Marker, Shmarker! What Difference Does it Make? 12-3-14

Leave a Reply

